‘Doctor Who’: ‘The Day of the Doctor’ transmission time confirmed

tennant and smith

The BBC has announced this afternoon that Doctor Who‘s 50th anniversary special will air at 7.50pm (GMT) on Saturday 23 November on BBC One.

Worldwide, that equates to:

2.50pm in New York
11.50am in Los Angeles
6.50am (on Sunday 24 November) in Sydney

The official synopsis for ‘The Day of the Doctor’ reads: “In 2013, something terrible is awakening in London’s National Gallery; in 1562, a murderous plot is afoot in Elizabethan England; and somewhere in space an ancient battle reaches its devastating conclusion. All of reality is at stake as the Doctor’s own dangerous past comes back to haunt him.”

The special will be screened in 3D in cinemas across the UK, Ireland, the US, Canada, Germany and Russia at the same time as the UK TV broadcast on BBC One.

> Find out all the latest info on ‘The Day of the Doctor’ in our news summary.

Are you looking forward to ‘The Day of the Doctor’? Let us know below…

> Order the 50th anniversary special on DVD on Amazon.

> Order the 50th anniversary special on Blu-ray on Amazon.

Watch the 50th anniversary trailer…