‘Penny Dreadful’ Season 2 episode guide

Posted Filed under

Josh Hartnett, Timothy Dalton and Eva Green return for a second season of Sky Atlantic’s horror thriller, Penny Dreadful.

Ccreated, written and executive produced by three-time Oscar nominee John Logan (Skyfall) and executive produced by Oscar winner Sam Mendes (American Beauty) and Pippa Harris (Revolutionary Road), the show brings some of literature’s most terrifying characters together in Victorian London, with Helen McCrory and Simon Russell Beale returning as series regulars alongside Billie Piper and Rory Kinnear.

> Buy Season 1 on DVD on Amazon.

Guest stars in Season 2 include Broadway legend Patti LuPone and Douglas Hodge.


Episode 1: ‘Fresh Hell’

Tuesday 5 May 2015, 10pm

Vanessa Ives (Green) is barraged by an onslaught of disturbing occult images brought on by the mysterious Evelyn Poole (McCrory).

Meanwhile, Ethan Chandler (Hartnett) decides to leave London and, under pressure from The Creature (Kinnear), Dr Frankenstein (Harry Treadaway) works to bring Brona (Piper) back to life.

Plus, Sir Malcolm (Dalton) returns to London to discover that a whole new evil is haunting Vanessa.


Episode 2: ‘Verbis Diablo’

Tuesday 12 May 2015, 10pm

Vanessa, who’s being haunted by witches, seeks solace with Sir Malcolm. She isn’t safe for long, however, as Evelyn Poole enchants the explorer to get to her.

Scotland Yard Inspector Rusk (guest star Douglas Hodge), meanwhile, seeks out the sole survivor of the Mariner’s Inn Massacre and Dr Frankenstein gives the re-born Brona a new identity.

Elsewhere, The Creature gets a new job and Dorian Gray (Reeve Carney) meets an intriguing woman with a secret. Ferdinand Lyle reveals the disturbing backstory of the Verbis Diablo and Evelyn’s fiendish daughter, Hecate (guest star Sarah Greene), hunts down a prize for her mother.


Episode 3: ‘The Nightcomers’

Tuesday 19 May 2015, 10pm

In a flashback episode, Vanessa meets The Cut-Wife (special guest star Patti LuPone), who teaches her how to harness her powers.

Isolated at her lonely cottage on the moors, The Cut-Wife quickly realises the extent of Vanessa’s powers and warns her of the danger that lies ahead and the evil that pursues her.


Episode 4: ‘Evil Spirits in Heavenly Places’

Tuesday 26 May 2015, 10pm

Lyle reveals that the Verbis Diablo relics tell a very dark and disturbing story – one that affects Vanessa.

Inspector Rusk, meanwhile, interviews the survivor of the brutal attack at the Mariner’s Inn, Hecate tries to get closer to Ethan and Angelique and Dorian’s romance grows.

Back at Sir Malcolm’s mansion, Vanessa, Ethan, Sembene and Lyle enjoy an evening with their host as something evil lurks within, ready to strike.


Episode 5: ‘Above the Vaulted Sky’

Tuesday 2 June 2015, 10pm

Hecate returns to her mother with a gift, while Evelyn works on a new totem. Vanessa, Ethan, Sir Malcolm, Sembene and Lyle protect the mansion from another attack and The Creature grows more impatient with Frankenstein.

Elsewhere, Inspector Rusk interrogates Ethan, Angelique is humiliated during a trip out with Dorian and Vanessa’s friendship with The Creature deepens.

Plus, on a stormy night, passion grows amongst all our lovers.


Episode 6: ‘Glorious Horrors’

Tuesday 9 June 2015, 10pm

Vanessa and Ethan deliver tragic news to Sir Malcolm. Elsewhere, Lavinia Putney is disturbed by an encounter with The Creature and Roper threatens the lives of those Ethan loves.

When Dorian decides to host a lavish ball in Angelique’s honour, tensions are high as Vanessa, Sir Malcolm, Evelyn, Frankenstein, Lily, Dorian, Angelique, Lyle and Hecate all come together for the opulent event.

However, a supposed glorious night soon turns to horror for Vanessa, while Sembene finally discovers Ethan’s secret.


Episode 7: ‘Little Scorpion’

Tuesday 16 June 2015, 10pm

Not feeling safe in London, Vanessa and Ethan flee to the Cut-Wife’s cottage on the lonely moors.

Settling into domesticity easily, they begin to grow closer until a figure from her dark past resurfaces.

Meanwhile, back in London, Lyle and Frankenstein uncover even more disturbing information from the Verbis Diablo relics. Plus, we soon discover that Lily isn’t what she appears to be.


Episode 8: ‘Memento Mori’

Tuesday 23 June 2015, 10pm

The Creature unleashes his rage on Frankenstein over Lily, and Inspector Rusk discovers Sir Malcolm’s connection to Ethan Chandler.

Malcolm, meanwhile, goes to confront Evelyn but quickly finds himself assaulted by another one of her deadly enchantments.


Episode 9: ‘And Hell Itself My Only Foe’

Tuesday 30 June 2015, 10pm

Back in London, Vanessa and Ethan learn that Sir Malcolm is in danger.

Desperate to save him, Vanessa goes alone to battle Evelyn, while Ethan heads out to Evelyn’s mansion with Frankenstein, Sembene and Lyle.

Elsewhere, Lily reveals her true self to Dorian.


Episode 10: ‘And They Were Enemies’

Tuesday 7 July 2015, 10pm

Vanessa must rely on her profound strength to defeat the Demon in a titanic struggle.

Meanwhile, Ethan leaves a tragic trail of blood in his wake and Sir Malcolm and Frankenstein must confront ghosts from their past.

Lyle helps to rescue his friends and The Creature tries to escape the Putneys.


> Buy Season 1 on DVD on Amazon.

Watch the Season 2 trailer…

Are you looking forward to Season 2? Let us know below…