‘The Outcast’ episode guide

Posted Filed under

Jessica Brown Findlay from Downton Abbey and Pride actor George Mackay star in BBC One’s The Outcast this month.

Written by Sadie Jones and based on her best-selling novel, the new two-part adaptation is a deeply romantic, uncomfortably honest coming-of-age story set in booming post-war Britain.

> Order The Outcast on DVD on Amazon.

The cast also includes Nathaniel Parker, Greg Wise and Hattie Morahan (The Bletchley Circle).


Episode 1

Sunday 12 July 2015, 9pm

> Read our review.

Set in post-war Britain, ten year-old Lewis Aldridge is grief-stricken as he struggles to cope with the death of his beloved mother. Left under the care of his emotionally distant father Gilbert, whom he barely knows and who quickly remarries, Lewis is forced to bury his feelings.

With no family to turn to, Lewis is dependent on his friendship with the neighbouring Carmichael girls, Tamsin and Kit. Controlled by their domineering father Dicky, an apparent pillar of the community who hides his true tendencies, Kit and Tamsin have problems of their own.

Growing up in a village filled with people determined to keep up appearances, despite what is simmering under the surface, Lewis’s behaviour begin to spiral out of control – taking him further and further away from the help that he needs.


Episode 2

Sunday 19 July 2015, 9pm

> Read our review.

Determined to get his life in order, Lewis returns to the village where he is notorious. But his attempts to lead a normal life are quickly destroyed by the people around him. Captivated by golden girl Tamsin (pictured), it’s not long before Lewis finds himself in trouble again.

Pushed to the edges of society, Lewis seems to be completely abandoned – but there’s one girl whose love might save him. Can he overcome his demons and reveal the darkness that belies the picture-perfect village?


> Order The Outcast on DVD on Amazon.

Watch the trailer…

Are you looking forward to The Outcast? Let us know below…