‘Penny Dreadful’ Season 1 episode guide

Posted Filed under

Josh Hartnett (Lucky Number Slevin), Eva Green (Casino Royale) and Timothy Dalton (James Bond) star in Sky Atlantic’s chilling new psychological thriller, which weaves together the origin stories of some of literature’s most frightening figures.

Written, created and executive produced by John Logan (writer of Gladiator, Hugo and Skyfall), and executive produced by director Sam Mendes (American Beauty), Penny Dreadful brings iconic characters including Dorian Grey and Dr Frankenstein and his monster together on the streets of Victorian London.

> Buy Season 1 on DVD on Amazon.


Episode 1

Tuesday 20 May 2014, 9pm

The police investigate a series of gruesome murders, but renowned explorer Sir Malcolm Murray (Dalton) and the strangely beautiful Vanessa Ives (Green) know there’s something darker at play.

In search of someone close to them who has been lost, they recruit American sharpshooter Ethan Chandler (Hartnett) and Dr Victor Frankenstein (Harry Treadaway) to help them on their journey.


Episode 2

Tuesday 27 May 2014, 9pm

In pursuit of answers, Vanessa and Sir Malcolm attend a party at the home of Egyptologist Sir Ferdinand Lyle (guest star Simon Russell Beale) where they encounter the mysteriously beautiful Dorian Gray (Reeve Carney). The party takes a turn, however, when renowned medium Madame Kali (guest star Helen McCrory) hosts a séance.

Meanwhile, Ethan befriends young Irish prostitute Ms Brona Croft (Billie Piper), and Dr Frankenstein is amazed with the progress his new creation is making.


Episode 3

Tuesday 3 June 2014, 9pm

Dr Frankenstein is confronted by the consequences of his past. Vanessa has a vision of Mina (Olivia Llewellyn) which leads her, Sir Malcolm, Ethan and Sembene to the London Zoo where they discover and capture Fenton (Olly Alexander), a servant to a vampire master.


Episode 4

Tuesday 10 June 2014, 9pm

Sir Malcolm hires Professor Abraham Van Helsing to work with Dr Frankenstein to uncover a cure to the disease that might be affecting his daughter.

Meanwhile, Fenton (Olly Alexander) draws his master to Sir Malcolm’s mansion and Vanessa’s infatuation with Dorian Gray continues to grow.


Episode 5

Tuesday 17 June 2014, 9pm

Vanessa recalls her past growing up next door to Sir Malcolm and his family and what ultimately led to Mina’s disappearance.


Episode 6

Tuesday 24 June 2014, 9pm

Vanessa’s latest vision leads Sir Malcolm, Ethan and Sembene to explore a plague shipped searching for Mina.

Meanwhile, Van Helsing reveals to Frankenstein more details about the creature that has taken Mina, and Vanessa’s night with Dorian unlocks something dark inside her.


Episode 7

Tuesday 1 July 2014, 9pm

The penultimate episode takes place over the course of one month, as Sir Malcolm, Ethan, Frankenstein and Sembene do everything they can to free Vanessa from the evil inside of her.


Episode 8

Tuesday 8 July 2014, 9pm

After having a vision of Mina at the Grand Guignol theatre, Vanessa, Sir Malcolm, Ethan, Frankenstein and Semebene explore the empty building. It’s there that they’re confronted by their worst nightmare.


> Buy Season 1 on DVD on Amazon.

Watch the trailer…

Are you looking forward to Penny Dreadful? Let us know below…