‘Thirteen’ episode guide

Posted Filed under

Written by rising star Marnie Dickens, Thirteen is BBC Three’s first online drama.

The five-part psychological drama explores how to pick up the threads of a life half-lived and how to survive as a family under the greatest pressure. How to feel again, chance love again.

> Buy the complete series on DVD on Amazon.


Episode 1

Sunday 28 February 2016

Today is the day Ivy Moxam escapes from the cellar, her prison for the last 13 years. After she makes a desperate 999 call from a phone box, Ivy is picked up by the police and taken to be interviewed.

With no precedent to follow, DI Elliott Carne and DS Lisa Merchant question Ivy to see if she is who she claims to be while they wait for official DNA confirmation. But before they can confirm her identity, news of her escape is leaked and the police rush to contact the Moxam family before they hear it from the press.

When the family is reunited, younger sister Emma is the only person with doubts; mother Christina and estranged father Angus need no proof that Ivy is their daughter.

The police finally locate the house in which Ivy was held captive, but find her kidnapper long gone. Combing the house for clues, Merchant and Carne discover evidence that contradicts Ivy’s story – and Merchant starts to question whether or not she’s telling the truth.


Episode 2

Sunday 6 March 2016

Recent events put more pressure on Ivy to relive her ordeal and Carne and Merchant find themselves surrounded by a new team from Scotland Yard.

Ivy is soon summoned back to the police station as Merchant comes up with a bold suggestion for jogging Ivy’s memory, while White’s car is discovered abandoned.

However, Ivy’s behaviour makes Merchant suspicious, and when evidence is produced which suggests that Ivy has lied to the police, she comes under fierce scrutiny. She reaches out to Tim for support, but suffers a shattering betrayal.


Episode 3

Sunday 13 March 2016

As the police start to make breakthroughs in their investigation, Ivy turns to her sister Emma, who seizes the chance to connect with her. But they are interrupted by the arrival of a mysterious letter addressed to ‘Alison’ – White’s name for Ivy.

DI Carne reaches out to Ivy, desperate to find a window into Ivy’s mind, but when she refuses to cooperate he is forced to take drastic measures in search of the truth.

Meanwhile, with doubts building over Ivy’s story, DS Merchant returns to Mark White’s house and makes a shocking discovery.


Episode 4

Sunday 20 March 2016

When evidence of Ivy’s DNA is all that is discovered in the cellar, she is arrested on suspicion of perverting the course of justice and taken into custody.

In the interview room, Ivy’s confusion is compounded by Carne’s cold fury and she realises that she no longer has his protection. Refusing to answer any questions, Ivy goes into shut-down and the police are forced to consider that she may be more culpable than they realised.

Christina demands that the police let her speak to her daughter, to get to the truth. With Christina’s pledge of unconditional love, Ivy finally unburdens herself from years of guilt with the shocking truth.


Episode 5

Sunday 27 March 2016

Ivy is forced to face her past and put herself at risk in order to save Phoebe. Carne and Merchant do everything they can to protect her, but in underestimating Mark White they have left their own lives hanging in the balance.

As the Moxam family are plunged back into the horror of 13 years ago, Ivy must decide if she wants to give in to the past, or fight for the future.

Can she ever really be free?


> Buy the complete series on DVD on Amazon.

Watch the trailer…

Are you looking forward to Thirteen? Let us know below…