‘Sherlock’ and ‘Doctor Who’ lose out at NTAs

Posted Filed under

Voted for by the public and hosted by Dermot O’Leary, the 16th National Television Awards were held at London’s O2 Arena and aired live on ITV1.

Doctor Who and Sherlock were nominated for the ‘Most Popular Drama’ award, alongside Shameless, but the gong went to BBC One school drama Waterloo Road. The award was presented by Chilean miner Luis Urzua.

Steven Moffat’s two 2010 hits went head to head again in the ‘Most Outstanding Drama Performance’ category, with Doctor Who’s Matt Smith and Sherlock’s Benedict Cumberbatch nominated. Ashes To Ashes star Philip Glenister was also up for the award, which was ultimately won by David Jason.