doctor who the doctors wife

Neil Gaiman is author of final ‘Doctor Who’ 50th ebook

Posted Filed under

Puffin and BBC Worldwide has published a series of eleven ebook short stories each based on one of the Eleven Doctors, released monthly from January to November 2013, each written by a different author.

Gaiman’s story about the Eleventh Doctor (played by Matt Smith) is called ‘Nothing O’Clock’ and will be released globally as an ebook on 21 November (£1.99).

Gaiman commented: “‘Nothing O’Clock’ stars the Eleventh Doctor, the Matt Smith Doctor, with Amy Pond as his companion. I set it somewhere during the first season of Matt Smith, mostly on Earth, in our time now and in 1984, but also somewhere else, a very, very long time ago. I had never created an original monster for Doctor Who and really enjoyed getting to create a creepy Doctor Who monster of the kind that we haven’t quite seen before… I hope that the Kin will get out there and occasionally give people nightmares. And that you will be worried if a man in a rabbit mask comes to your door and tries to buy your house.”

The official synopsis reads: “Thousands of years ago, Time Lords built a Prison for the Kin. They made it utterly impregnable and unreachable. As long as Time Lords existed, the Kin would be trapped forever and the universe would be safe. They had planned for everything… everything, that is, other than the Time War and the fall of Gallifrey. Now the Kin are free again and there’s only one Time Lord left in the universe who can stop them!”

A paperback anthology (£12.99) and an audio download collection (£14.99) of all eleven stories, Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 stories, will also be published on 21 November.

> Find out all the latest info on the 50th anniversary in our news summary.

Are you looking forward to ‘Nothing O’Clock’? Let us know below…

> Order the 50th anniversary special on DVD on Amazon.

> Order the 50th anniversary special on Blu-ray on Amazon.

Watch the 50th anniversary trailer…