‘Game of Thrones’ Season 5 episode guide

Posted Filed under

Game of Thrones, HBO’s fantasy drama based on the bestselling novels by George RR Martin, returns to Sky Atlantic for a fifth season.

The last outing to the vast and violent Seven Kingdoms saw a number of shocking deaths as the battle for the Iron Throne escalated and, with this new season featuring some of the most explosive scenes yet, the promise that ‘winter is coming’ becomes more ominous than ever before.

> Buy the complete Season 1-4 boxset on Amazon.

Season 5’s new cast members include Alexander Siddig as Doran Martell, Jessica Henwick as Nymeria Sand, Rosabell Laurenti Sellers as Tyene Sand and Keisha Castle-Hughes as Obara Sand.


Episode 1: ‘The Wars to Come’

Monday 13 April 2015, 9pm

Jon Snow struggles to mediate between wildling leader Mance Raydar and new Castle Black arrival Stannis Baratheon while, in King’s Landing, a mournful Cersei continues to worry for her son, King Tommen.

Elsewhere, Tyrion arrives in a new location and is presented with a fresh possibility and, in Meereen, Daenerys grapples with the politics of power, as well as her tempestuous dragons.


Episode 2: ‘The House of Black and White’

Monday 20 April 2015, 9pm

> Read our review.

As Arya arrives in Braavos, Pod and Brienne run into trouble on the road.

Cersei fears for her daughter’s safety in Dorne as Ellaria Sand seeks revenge. Plus, Stannis tempts Jon and Daenerys receives advice.


Episode 3: ‘High Sparrow’

Monday 27 April 2015, 9pm

> Read our review.

In King’s Landing, Queen Margaery spends time with her new husband, King Tommen.

Elsewhere, fugitive Tyrion and Varys walk the Long Bridge of Volantis.


Episode 4: ‘The Sons of the Harpy’

Monday 4 May 2015, 9pm

> Read our review.

As Jaime and Bronn sneak into Dorne by sea, their arrival isn’t the secret they’d hoped it would be.

Meanwhile, Sansa discusses her future with Littlefinger, Jon is tempted by Melisandre, and Tyrion has a new travelling companion on his way to Meereen.


Episode 5: ‘Kill the Boy’

Monday 11 May 2015, 9pm

> Read our review.

While Jon recruits the help of an unexpected ally, in Meereen, Daenerys makes a difficult decision.

Elsewhere, Brienne searches for Sansa and Theon remains under Ramsay’s control.


Episode 6: ‘Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken’

Monday 18 May 2015, 9pm

> Read our review.

Arya continues her training while Jorah and Tyrion run into slavers.

As Trystane and Myrcella make plans, Jaime and Bronn reach their destination. Plus, the Sand Snakes attack.


Episode 7: ‘The Gift’

Monday 25 May 2015, 9pm

> Read our review.

The stakes are raised as Jon prepares for conflict.

At Castle Black, Sansa tries to talk to Theon.


Episode 8: ‘Hardhome’

Monday 1 June 2015, 9pm

Arya makes progress in her training.

Elsewhere, Sansa confronts an old friend and Cersei faces a struggle while Jon embarks on a journey.


Episode 9: ‘The Dance of Dragons’

Monday 8 June 2015, 9pm

While Stannis confronts a troubling decision, Jon returns to The Wall and Mace visits the Iron Bank.

Plus, Arya encounters someone from her past and Daenerys reluctantly oversees a traditional celebration of athleticism.


Episode 10: ‘Mother’s Mercy’

Monday 15 June 2015, 9pm

While Stannis marches, Daenerys is surrounded by strangers.

Plus, Cersei seeks forgiveness and Jon is challenged.


> Buy the complete Season 1-4 boxset on Amazon.

Watch the Season 5 trailer…

Are you looking forward to Season 5? Let us know below…