Doctor Who wins Visionary Honours Award

Posted Filed under

At the inaugural Visionary Honours 2019, held at BAFTA, London, on February 8, showrunner Chris Chibnall and writer Malorie Blackman accepted the award for TV Show of the Year for Doctor Who. Blackman and Chibnall co-wrote the Doctor Who Series 11 episode Rosa, which featured a story about Rosa Parks.

The award was chosen by members of the Visionary Arts Organisation which lauded the programme’s “ethos of diversity ”, evidenced by a female lead portraying the Doctor and ethnic minority companions Yasmin Khan and Ryan Sinclair. Also cited were Malorie Blackman (Rosa screenwriter) and Vinay Patel (Demons of the Punjab screenwriter), the first black and Asian writers the show has ever had.