The Wheel of Time - Rosamund Pike as Moiraine Damodred

The Wheel of Time Season 2 – official trailer

Posted Filed under

The series returns on September 1st, 2023. 

Updated 20/07/23: Following last week’s poster reveal, Prime Video have dropped an official Season 2 trailer.

The exhilarating two-minute video shows the epic scale of the upcoming series, as the show’s heroes face down the deadly threat of the growing darkness. It also introduces the fan favourite characters of Elayne Trakand (Ceara Coveney), Aviendha (Ayoola Smart), and Lady Suroth.

Season 2 of The Wheel of Time is based on the second novel in Robert Jordan’s epic book series, The Great Hunt, as well as some elements of the third novel, The Dragon Reborn. The series was filmed in the Czech Republic, Morocco and Italy.

Original Article (of 13/07/23) continues…

With the show recommissioned as the first season wrapped, The Wheel of Time Season 2 has been a long time in the making.

To remind us of its impending return on September 1st 2023, Prime Video have released a striking new poster.

The Wheel of Time Season 2 poster

Here’s what they have to say about the new series.

Based on the best-selling Robert Jordan fantasy series The Wheel of Time, Rand al’Thor (Josha Stradowski) learns he is The Dragon Reborn—a dangerous figure from history destined to save the world … or break it. Desperate to protect him from the Dark One, an army of powerful women must reckon with his burgeoning power and encroaching madness. The Wheel of Time turns, and the Last Battle approaches. Though Rand thought he destroyed the Dark One, evil is not gone from the world. In Season Two, threats new and very old seek out the young friends from the Two Rivers, now scattered over the world. The woman who found and guided them is now powerless to help, and so they must find other sources of strength. In each other, or themselves. In the Light … or the Dark.

The show also stars Rosamund Pike as Moiraine Damodred, Daniel Henney as Lan Mandragoran, Zoë Robins as Nynaeve al’Meara, Madeleine Madden as Egwene al’Vere, Marcus Rutherford as Perrin Aybara and Ceara Coveney as Elayne Trakand.

In Season 2, Dónal Finn (SAS Rogue Heroes) takes on the role of Mat Cauthon, previously played by Barney Harris.

The Wheel of Time Season 1 recap

While there’s no trailer yet, Prime Video released lightning speed recap last October, culminating in a tease for Season 2.

The Wheel of Time is adapted for television by executive producer and showrunner Rafe Judkins (Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.) Larry Mondragon and Rick Selvage of iwot productions and Ted Field of Radar Pictures also executive produce. As do Mike Weber, Darren Lemke, Marigo Kehoe, Justine Juel Gillmer, Sanaa Hamri and Amanda Kate Shuman.

Rosamund Pike also serves as co-executive producer, and Harriet McDougal, Brandon Sanderson, and Lauren Selig are consulting producers.  Amazon Studios and Sony Pictures Television Studios co-produce The Wheel of Time.

As with the first run, Season 2 consists of eight episodes. We’ll keep you posted.