‘Doctor Who’ Season 10’s writers have now ALL been confirmed

Posted Filed under

The latest edition of Doctor Who: The Fan Show has confirmed the line-up of writers for the new season of Doctor Who.

12 new Doctor Who episodes have been filming in Cardiff since June 2016 and will begin airing on BBC One this April.

Here’s everything we know so far about Season 10.

The Fan Show host Christel Dee revealed today: “[Episode 6 and Episode 7] are written by Steven Moffat and Peter Harness…”

It hasn’t been stated if the episodes are a two-part story co-written by both writers, or if Moffat and Harness have written one episode each.

The episodes, which formed the fifth block of filming on Season 10, were directed by Daniel Nettheim (Line of Duty), who previously helmed Peter Harness’s 2015 two-parter, ‘The Zygon Invasion’ and ‘The Zygon Inversion’.

Harness previously told CultBox: “I’d love to do something with the Mara and/or the Krynoids. And I have an idea for bringing something/one else back which I’m not going to tell you in case I’m allowed to. Cause I wouldn’t want to spoil the surprise.”

Location shooting for the filming block took place on the Canary Islands, which has previously doubled for New Mexico in ‘The Zygon Invasion’ & ‘The Zygon Inversion’, the Daleks’ planet Skaro in ‘The Witch’s Familiar’ and as the Doctor’s home planet Gallifrey in ‘Hell Bent’.

We revealed earlier this month that Episode 6 is titled ‘Extremis’.

Christel Dee also confirmed that Block 6, currently filming, is being directed by Wayne Yip (Class). Comprising Episode 8 and Episode 10, the block’s writers are Being Human creator Toby Whithouse and Sherlock co-creator Mark Gatiss.

The complete list of writers for Season 10, including the ones previously announced, is as follows:

Episode 1 – Steven Moffat

Episode 2 – Frank Cottrell-Boyce

Episode 3 – Sarah Dollard

Episode 4 – Mike Bartlett

Episode 5 – Jamie Mathieson

Episode 6 – Steven Moffat and/or Peter Harness

Episode 7 – Peter Harness and/or Steven Moffat

Episode 8 – Toby Whithouse

Episode 9 – Rona Munro

Episode 10 – Mark Gatiss

Episode 11 – Steven Moffat

Episode 12 – Steven Moffat

This year’s Christmas special is also expected to be written by departing showrunner Steven Moffat.

Watch the new edition of The Fan Show...

Are you looking forward to Season 10? Let us know below…