Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi – first trailer for the new Disney+ Star Wars show lands

Posted Filed under

Set ten years after the fall of the Jedi, the Disney+ series gives us the wilderness years of Obi-Wan Kenobi. 

Of all the announced Star Wars television shows, and there are a few, Obi-Wan Kenobi is the one we’re really excited about. Ewan McGregor returns to his prequels role, part of the way through his slow transformation into Sir Alec Guinness.

Set in the gap between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope, the venerable Jedi lays low and keeps a watchful eye on the young Luke Skywalker. However, as the 1 minute, 45 second trailer shows, it was not a safe time to be a Jedi…

“Between darkness and defeat. Hope survives.”

“The fight is done. We lost.”

As expected for a Tatooine based show, the trailer begins with sand. Lots of sand. Then we see Obi-Wan carrying out his mission, watching the young Luke Skywalker from a distance.

Elsewhere, we get a glimpse of the forces ranged against the pair of them, including the Jedi hunters which director Deborah Chow has talked about. Rupert Friend plays the Grand Inquisitor, dispensing advice on Jedi psychology, and then we see Reva (Moses Ingram) in action. Meanwhile, Joel Edgerton returns as a concerned Owen Lars and there’s a brief glimpse of Indira Varma in imperial uniform.

One character who doesn’t make an appearance is Darth Vader, although it’s long been announced that Hayden Christensen will be returning to the role. We guess the smart money is on his arrival in time for the series finale. It’s one of two returns he’s making to the franchise, the other being for Ahsoka.

Musically, the trailer reaches back to The Phantom Menace‘s ‘Duel of the Fates’ to set an epic tone for the series.

Obi-Wan Kenobi images

If you want to see more, Entertainment Weekly has a number of exclusive images you can find all over the internet.

Obi-Wan Kenobi lands at Disney+ on Wednesday, 25th of May – the 45th anniversary of the Star Wars franchise. The show is a ‘limited series’, consisting of six episodes.