Doctor Who ‘The Star Beast’: full cast list

Posted Filed under

A cast list for the first Doctor Who 60th anniversary special, The Star Beast, was released by the Radio Times.

David Tennant – The Doctor
Catherine Tate – Donna Noble
Miriam Margolyes – voice of the Meep
Yasmin Finney – Rose Noble
Karl Collins – Shaun Temple
Jamie Cho – Colonel Chan
Ruth Madeley – Shirley Anne Bingham
Jacqueline King – Sylvia Noble
Dara Lall – Fudge Merchandani
Ronak Patani – Major Singh
John Hopkinson – Voice of Zreeg
Ned Porteous – Voice of Zogroth
Matt Green – BBC reporter
Anna Martine Freeman – Chief technician
Archie Backhouse – Sergeant
Isabella Carey – Soldier
Harley McEvilly – Lad
Max Fincham – Lad

Fans concerned about the absence of the late Bernard Cribbins as Donna Noble’s grandfather Wilfred Mott should know that Cribbins filmed Doctor Who in Camden. Some, but not all, of the filming in Camden was for The Star Beast. Footage for the other two 60th anniversary specials, Wild Blue Yonder and The Giggle was also filmed in Camden. The director of The Star Beast, Rachel Talalay, alluded to this herself.

Written by Russell T Davies and directed by Rachel Talalay, The Star Beast, the first of three Doctor Who 60th anniversary specials, will air on BBC One in the UK and Ireland on Saturday, November 25 at 6:30pm. It will also stream on Disney+ outside the UK and Ireland on the same day.

Two more Doctor Who 60th anniversary specials starring David Tennant as the Fourteenth Doctor and Catherine Tate as companion Donna Noble will air on subsequent Saturdays. Wild Blue Yonder will air on 2 December and The Giggle will air on 9 December.

Ncuti Gatwa will star in his first full Doctor Who episode as the Fifteenth Doctor in the Doctor Who Christmas special The Church on Ruby Road alongside Millie Gibson as companion Ruby Sunday on 25 December.

A new 8-episode Doctor Who series starring Ncuti Gatwa and Millie Gibson will debut in Spring of 2024 followed by the 2024 Christmas special later in the year.